My heart was heavy yesterday as I learned about the death of Rebecca Brownlee, a beautiful girl from my home town in Ohio. Two nights ago, her car flipped, taking her life. She was not a close friend, hardly an acquaintance. But I have vivid memories of her in Spanish class: she had a smile that radiated, a look that glowed. But more than any connection I had, my heart was heavy for her close friends and family. My facebook overflowed with the thoughts and prayers of all these people, most of which were asking "why?"

Death. It's the one thing that's inevitable. It's the thing that makes people question the purpose of life. It makes us spend time truly contemplating why we're here. Death hurts. Whether someone believes in God or not, losing someone just plain hurts. There is emptiness without them and I believe the more we experience this, the more we realize this world cannot be all there is.
-------------------------------------------
Last Sunday, Pastor Rick Dake gave a sermon entitled, "Why Jesus?" and I've been thinking about it ever since. He pointed out that we are so willing to talk about why we love certain restaurants, certain sports teams, etc. We are so quick to be an advertisement for these things, sharing why the food is amazing or why a specific team is best. We know all the reasons. Then he posed the question: "But why Jesus? What do you tell people when they ask you that?" It's often harder for us to express the answer to this question, or sometimes we say it's too "personal." I admit that I've fallen victim to these excuses.

Why Jesus? I've known him and followed him for quite some time, but this question still made me contemplate my true intentions. Why Jesus? Then I hear about the death of Rebecca Brownlee, and my heart is heavy. I am reminded that there is so much brokenness in this world. So, why Jesus?
_____________________________________

 I will respond to this question in my next blog. Until then, I'd encourage you to answer this question for yourself.
-Contemplate why we are truly here at this exact moment and time.
-Consider who Jesus is and what that means for your life.
-If you follow Jesus, why? Do you know? Do you understand?
-When the inevitable happens (death), where is or what is your hope? Do you have any? Why?

This week I finished the book of John. Read through it and consider what it means to follow Jesus. Why Jesus?
Elizabeth
9/18/2012 06:56:02 am

Feel free to comment on anything, even the questions on the bottom!

Reply
Mom
9/18/2012 10:47:26 am

Why Jesus? My heart truly had reason to rejoice when I turned that simple question over and over in my mind. Why Jesus?....because He is my everything, my joy in saddness, my comfort in sorrow, my strength in weakness, my closest friend who is as close to me as the air I breath. I know this can sound like something taken from an inspiration book and yet for me, it is my very life...my reason for living. Even when life sends you to the depths of a valley and there are things that seem so hopeless, I have literally cried out to Him with a heart so heavy it seems I can hardly breath. He has become my joy, my comfort, my strength. I have proved His promises are true and I can't imagine going through the pain of this life without Him. Why Jesus? Because without Him life would be mere existing. Again, He truly is my everything. Thank you, daughter, for giving me a reason to reflect on the beauty of Jesus.

Reply
Mom
9/18/2012 10:54:35 am

After reading my comment I realized I neglected to say the most important reason for "Why Jesus?" Because he is my SAVIOR. He took my sin upon himself, died a horrendous death so that I could have life. He took my sin so I could become righteous in God's eyes. Will never be able to fathom why, but He did.

Reply
Alice tomei
9/21/2012 12:23:27 am

I love the person you have became! Bella is soooo inspired by u!!!! Love u 'lil bit'

Reply



Leave a Reply.